PREMIERE: Pacific Heights gets lush with a brand new mix


Today we’ve got something special for you, a brand new mix from PACIFIC HEIGHTS, that is lush, full of space and soaring electronica.

Pacific Heights, the solo project of Devin Abrams also known as DJ Reno, has been around since 2002 but there hasn’t been much from them in recent times. It’s been eight years in fact since Pacific Heights’ last album. That’s largely due to the fact that up until 2014 he was a member of the band SHAPESHIFTER, which we imagine left him rather busy.

However, things have started heating up considerably for Pacific Heights, with two singles since the start of 2016, ‘Airborne’ (feat Deanne Krieg) and ‘Buried by the Burden’ (feat Louis Baker) which came straight off their upcoming album. The Stillness is the title for their upcoming album which is due to be released May 27th and this mix is another tease at what’s to come.

The mix is full of great tracks that Pacific Heights has transformed into soaring, spacious pieces of art pop that, despite some up tempo, dance inducing beats and deep synths, calm the soul. The mix is full of layered and accentuated vocals, reverberating pad sounds and an overarching mood that is deliberately effects the listener. It’s piece that has to be heard to be understood, words just don’t do it justice.

The mix is a whooping hour long, more than enough to get you through the early morning commute or help you wind down and shake workday stress in preparation for the weekend.

If you’ve got time then I recommend listening the mix through each song flows into the next perfectly and the entire experience creates a refreshing calmness of mind. But, if that’s not your style or you’re in a hurry, then don’t worry. We’ve got you covered with the track listing.


1 Dorian Concept – The Sky Opposite
2 Kelela – Rewind
3 Ills – Fifty-Phiphty
4 Galimatias & Sorrow – Subside
5 Jack Garratt – Synesthesia, Pt.1
6 Honne – I Can Give You Heaven
7 Slum Sociable – All Night
8 Darkstar – Stoke the Fire
9 Jamie Woon – Sharpness
10 Anderson Paak – Put Me Thru
11 Anderson Paak – Am I Wrong (feat. ScHoolboy Q)
12 Vulfpeck – Wait for the Moment
13 Honne – Church Rave In Miami
14 Thom Yorke – The Mother Lode
15 Groeni – Hedre
16 Ills – Plans Only Drawn
17 Pacific Heights – Airborne

My personal favourites are ‘I Can Give You Heaven’ and ‘Airborne’ but there isn’t a piece on there that is anything less than incredible. The Stillness, Pacific Height’s first album in eight years, will be released May 27th via Create/Control

Words by Cailey Moroney





Future international rockstar and current music student, Cailey spends most of her time deciding whether or not she should buy Subway and purposefully trying to look as scary as possible so no one will sit next to her on public transport.