Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: CC:DISCO! announces 'First Light' (Vol II) with exceptional double release

24 February 2021 | 3:25 pm | Emma Jones

One of the best to do it, CC:DISCO! returns with her second iteration of her First Light compilation with a double single release to get you moving.

Four years on from the release of volume one, CC:DISCO! and Soothsayer have joined forces once again for a second edition of the compilation First Light. Coming straight out of the gate with two singles, 'VGF' (DUB)' by Donald's House and Lipelis and 'Laamore' by Hidden SpheresFirst Light volume 2 is already an eagerly anticipated release from one of the very best.

While First Light (Vol 1) was firmly focused on homegrown talent such as Roza Terenzi, Love Deluxe, Nite Fleit and more in Australia and New Zealand, volume 2 shows a curation by CC:DISCO! while she was based in Europe for the last 12 months. Serving as a snapshot into a more global collection of artists, this second iteration of First Light will showcase artists not just from Australia, but also from Russia, Japan, Zambia, Spain, Sweden, Indonesia, US, Canada and more. Because of this cross-continental collaboration, the sonic scope is also broadened, with the 24 tracks of the digital only release set to explore the realms of jazz, Balearic, disco, house, trance and techno.

The 80s-inspired Italo-Disco sounds of 'VGF (DUB)' are sure to improve anyone's day, and marks a formidable collaboration between two rising forces. Donald's House (Permanent Vacation, Touch From A Distance), a Melbourne brother duo that has been on CC:DISCO's radar they first appeared on the scene, link up with Moscow-based Lipelis (Animals Dancing, Public Possession), a stalwart on the scene. Together, the deliver six and a half minutes of escapist Italo-Disco bliss.

CC:DISCO! said of 'VGF (DUB)', “’VGF (DUB)’ is a Balearic core shaker I've always needed in my life, that guitar part just takes me to Ibiza and back again. Donald’s House and Lipelis, talk about a collaboration of my dreams!”

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

Manchester's Hidden Spheres (Lobster Theremin, Rhythm Section International) has created a reputation as a tastemaker staple in the international scene thanks to their monthly show on NTS Radio and millions of streams under their belt. It's no surprise then that their First Light offering would be of an excellent standard, and it's exactly that with its utterly beautiful, nature-influenced and transportive composition which takes you far, far away.

“‘Laamore’ I must say is a track that kept me sane in the year that was 2020, every time I play it makes me feel calm and happy," CC:DISCOsaid. "Basically, if a song could whisper in your ear "everything's gonna be alright" this would be that song.”

There's a reason CC:DISCO! has achieved the status as a one of "Australia's top DJs" as per Resident Advisor. Committed to her position as not only a tastemaker who tirelessly showcases others around her, but also a purveyor of exceptional musical taste and possessing the ability to put on one hell of a set, it makes sense that this compilation -just like anything she sets her mind to- would be as forward-thinking, unique and exciting as it is. We can't wait to hear more.

Soothsayer Presents First Light: Volume 2 Compiled By CC:DISCO! is out Friday, May 7th.

Pre-order here

Vinyl Tracklisting:

LP 1:

A1. Hybrid Man - Phantom Signals

A2. Donald’s House & Lipelis - VGF (DUB)

A3. Comfy Bella - Tell Meh

B1. Jenifa Mayanja - Dawning

B2. Ca$hminus - Paradise

B3. Mount Liberation Unlimited - Debagungar

LP 2:

C1. Manuel Darquart - Agave Harvest

C2. Tech Support - Concorde

C3. Paul Jextra - Heatwav

D1. Club Tularosa - Pressure

D2. Pépe - In Due Time

D3. Hidden Spheres - Laamore

Digital Tracklisting:

1. Zeitgeist Freedom Energy Exchange - Everyday Blessing

2. Donald’s House & Lipelis - VGF (DUB)

3. Comfy Bella - Tell Meh

4. Jenifa Mayanja – Dawning

5. Steady Weather & Allysha Joy - Burning So Hot (feat. Allysha Joy)

6. Ca$hminus – Paradise

7. Moon Tan – Chinatown

8. Mount Liberation Unlimited – Debagungar

9. Transit State - System

10. Manuel Darquart - Agave Harvest

11. Munir – Waterpolo

12. Tech Support - Concorde

13. Paul Jextra – Heatwav

14. Club Tularosa – Pressure

15. Perdu Vague – Behaviour

16. Manami - A Dreamer’s Dream

17. Regularfantasy - Life Is A Delight

18. Mr. Ho - Next Phase

19. Body Corp - In Motion

20. Pépe - In Due Time

21. Escape Artist - Under Illusion

22. Hybrid Man - Phantom Signals

23. Fitzzgerald - At The Moment

24. Hidden Spheres - Laamore

Words by Emma Jones

Image: Natalie Jurrjens