Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: LISTEN: Mac Demarco 'Brother'

12 March 2014 | 5:48 pm | Hannah Galvin

Listen to Mac Demarco's 'Brother', the second official single taken from his forthcoming record, Salad Days.

Montreal-based singer-songwriter MAC DEMARCO is just about ready to release his second full-length record, titled Salad Days. With each present day feeling larger than it's former, the man has aided our impatience on the release's lead-up by unleashing the album's second official single, 'Brother'.

Following Salad Days' sharp, headstrong first taste, 'Passing Out Pieces', the latest track escapes to a more dreamy and sensual zone; warmly resonating with the artist we previously met on his debut full-length album, 2. Coupling a jangly, wet guitar with another encompassing the tears of an emotional harmony, 'Brother' is injected with a delicately spoken interface. Pull the thin layer of solemn skin off of this initial response to unveil the sublime beauty buried not-too-deep within the world of the song.

As the blissful journey cruises on, twist yourself around the soft but demanding vocals of Demarco, before tripping into a psychedelic bottomless pit of resounding screeching, a consistent beat, aching guitars and the gentle exhalation of Mac's high vocal range that has become token within his charming, expansive catalogue.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter

'Brother' is the second single taken from Mac Demarco's sophomore LP Salad Days; due for it's Australian release on Friday, 28th March via SPUNK Records.


1. Salad Days

2. Blue Boy

3. Brother

4. Let Her Go

5. Goodbye Weekend

6. Let My Baby Stay

7. Passing Out Pieces

8. Treat Her Better

9. Chamber Of Reflection

10. Go Easy

11. Jonny’s Odyssey

Words by Hannah Galvin.