Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram
Link to our TikTok

Live Review: RÜFÜS DU SOL’s third single ‘Lost In My Mind’ cements excitement for upcoming album

10 September 2018 | 11:41 am | Clare Neal

‘Lost In My Mind’ is the third single release from relocated Sydney-siders RÜFÜS DU SOL ahead of their third album SOLACE...

‘Lost In My Mind’ is the third single release from RÜFÜS DU SOL ahead of their third album SOLACE, due out next month. The track is being touted as one of the most ambitious off the album and was honoured as Zane Lowe’s World Record with Apple Music Beats 1. Featuring a cool blend of analogue sound design techniques and vocal samples that span between the celestial and the tribal, it’s easy to hear why the tune has received so much praise. It’s simultaneously gritty and sweet, like sonic popping candy.


The trio, consisting of Tyrone Lindqvist, Jon George and James Hunt, have spent their last year of music making at new digs in Venice, LA, where they have drawn influence from the Californian landscape to create their newest body of work. Indeed, the soundscape created in ‘Lost In My Mind’ evokes imagery of stark deserts and never-ending horizons with the clever use of expansive, echoing synths and relentless melodic oscillations. The song itself is about pent-up escapism and the need to break free from the bounds of life and, in a way, serves as just that to the listener. It’s the kind of song that would be the soundtrack to that helicopter-pan-around-landscape scene of every great action film, where the camera eventually zooms in on the movie’s hero having an existential moment.

Additionally, along with the release of ‘Lost In My Mind’, RÜFÜS DU SOL have also unveiled the track listing for SOLACE, showing the trio has no qualms when it comes to keeping fans on their toes. Featuring nine tracks, it is clear that the trio have been working 'round the clock juggling world tours and sold-out shows to set a new benchmark in their musical careers. This is an amazing year to be RÜFÜS DU SOL.

Plug into the latest music with our FREE weekly newsletter


  1. Treat You Better
  2. Eyes
  3. New Sky
  4. Lost In My Mind
  5. No Place
  6. All I’ve Got
  7. Underwater
  8. Solace
  9. Another Life

Solace is out later this year via Sony.


IMAGE: Supplied